Frosty air + fireworks

It’s a windy morning here in Aberdeen, with a slight bite in the air and melancholy skies. While sipping my morning coffee, I’ve been watching the last of the yellow leaves get blown off the tree that sits just outside the back door. It feels like November to me, even though I’ve never experienced it here. But the air gets that smell about it, especially in the evenings… wood burning fireplaces mixed into a frosty cold. Nathan says it smells like Christmas time. To me, it reminds me of winter trips to the mountains with my family in Colorado. When we would step outside at night, the cold would rush into our nostrils and chill our lungs. I would breathe deeply and take in as much of that wintry essence as I could in one inhale.

I smelled it here last night. It was one of those beautifully clear nights and the moon was bright like a bulb in the sky. We ate dinner at home, bundled up from head to toe, and made our way to the Aberdeen beach for the Bonfire Night, AKA Guy Fawkes Night, AKA Firework Night. There’s a lot of history to November 5th that I won’t expound upon here, but should you be interested, check out this LINK at your leisure. Needles to say, you are to “Remember, remember the 5th of November!” So in place of a giant public bonfire, the city puts on a glorious firework display, all set to music.

Nathan and I moved along the streets and down into the masses of people. I felt like I was transported back into my childhood, into a swirl of 4th of July and trips to the circus. There were street vendors selling those plastic light up swords, wands, and spinning wheels. Children were twirling them about, enraptured with the bright colors. Others were writing words in the air with sparklers, imitating the fire throwers performing for the crowds.

We landed a spot on a grassy hill just above the sea of people gathering for the show. The perfect viewing area. As we waited, I observed. People walking to and fro. Children in puffy snowsuits with hats and mittens. Parents sipping hot cups of cocoa. Lots of conversations going on about us. Chitter chatter. And the smell of sparkler smoke thick in the air. Mmmm. The show began and for 20 minutes, we sat just below giant booms of colors, all synchronized to music. I noticed that the moon became the center of multiple bursts of color, like the golden inside of a bright flower. The little girl next to me kept saying “Wow! That is amazing!” I, too, kept saying the same to Nathan.  

As the show concluded, we zipped up the road to our church. Winding our way through the rush of people. We slipped into the warmth of the church coffee bar, and grabbed cups of cocoa with giant marshmallows, and snacked on miniature mince pies and other goodies. We talked, met lovely people, and thawed from the cold.

As we returned home for the night, that chill was in the air, with deep woodsy accents and the lingering scent of firework smoke. “That was really fun,” we shared. Both thankful to be in a place where we can embrace some new traditions, holidays, and adventures.

Next up on the list of celebrations…our 3rd wedding anniversary! November 19th. I’m already feeling especially sentimental.

Until next time. XOXO.

3 thoughts on “Frosty air + fireworks

  1. I sure am enjoying learning about the life of the Scots from your posts and notes. If the winter gets long for you, please just write. Blessings – Jill M

Leave a Reply

