Rain & frittata

Another rainy day here. (I’m beginning to think we live somewhere other than Denver…Seattle perhaps?) I have been especially mindful and prayerful about the masses of people who are continuing to be affected by the floods. The images are mind boggling; the damage immense. Nathan and I were glad to host a lovely couple for the last two days who needed a place to stay in Denver, after they risked getting down from a mountaintop in the Boulder area. They just moved here last week from Virginia, and were welcomed by days and days of storms and the astounding results. Water, and more water. It’s amazing how drastically different the conditions have been in Littleton, compared to several communities just north and east of us. I saw today that S.E. Boulder had received 18.55 inches of water in the last several days! If converted to snow, that would be close to 18 FEET!! Can you imagine?! So we remain in prayer for our new friends and the MANY others who are trying to navigate and get situated after the flooding.

The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. ~Psalm 34:18

So given the ongoing rainfall, and the good kind of tiredness that followed this morning’s church work duties and Sunday School kick-off, we decided to stay in this afternoon, and stay warm. Sweatpants on, rain on the windows, and the Broncos scoring a win on TV. As we thought about dinner, I began to wonder what I could drum up from the odd assortment of items in our fridge. I began to think about breakfast foods. Pancakes? Eggs? Turkey bacon? We remained indecisive until I remembered that dish I’ve been wanting to try. FRITTATA. It’s supposedly easily made, and effortlessly comprised of eggs, milk, and whatever else you have in the fridge, obviously with some exceptions, ha.

I’ve never made a frittata, but after watching Morning Glory a while back, starring Rachel McAdams and Harrison Ford, who is a quite abrasive and unruly news anchor, I randomly decided that I wanted to get a knack for making the dish. Why? Because that was Ford’s signature dish in the movie, and he made it look divine.

And so…I used the trusty Google search to find an easy frittata recipe. And successfully I found one. “Frittatas in 5 Easy Steps.” Simple, and open to your own interpretation and what you have on hand. I decided to use some mini sweet peppers, broccoli, and onions as my add-ins.

Frittata VeggiesCooking Frittata

Sautéed and then topped with a whisked mixture of a few eggs, a couple egg whites, salt, pepper, and a bit of milk… it cooked into loveliness in a skillet. Mmmmm. Then I simply followed the recipe’s instructions, slipped it into the oven to broil after I topped it with some shredded cheese, and ta-da! Dinner was ready to serve. It smelled amazing and tasted oh-so-good.

Eating Frittata

And so, we ate and enjoyed. And for the remainder of this evening, I plan to watch a movie, be shamelessly lazy, and enjoy the peace and calm before the start of another week. But even as I do, I am prompted again to keep those in mind who are not able to cook in their own kitchens tonight, be on their own sofas, in their own beds, or with their own belongings. Displaced by floods and wreckage.

Prayers for all those affected in the recent days.

I sign off with the twenty-third psalm on this rainy night:

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures, 

He leads me beside the still waters,

He restores my soul.

He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil, for you are with me.

Your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies,

You anoint my head with oil, 

My cup overflows. 

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life,

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. 

Leave a Reply

